:::RHMT::: Real Home Made Turbo

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Got video of your car doing rippers or dirty 2/3rds? post them up! (link)

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: limits of side mount intercoolers  (Read 2130 times)

• Certified OG
limits of side mount intercoolers
« on: January 20, 2015, 04:48:31 AM »

due to space constraints, radiator-blocking concerns, and other stupid shit, im curious, what are the limits of aftermarket side mount intercoolers? specifically cheap china ones. using a pretty large borg turbo at say 12psi vs using a smaller gt28 or whatever at 12psi, wouldn't there be a fair amount less heat created in the whole compressing stage of the air?

would it be stupid to try and use a well ducted fat ebay side mount intercooler for say 350-400hp using a fairly large turbo?

im not a turbine engineer or anything, I thought if larger turbos make more volume/power at the same psi, wouldn't it make less heat compressing? I thought I remember reading or being told smaller turbos make more heat because they are less efficient lb for lb of boost

also I think it may reduce some lag. ive kicked around the idea of a a2w intercooler too, seems like too much BS for a street car.

HiProfile

• Certified OG
  • Injector Kingpin
Re: limits of side mount intercoolers
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2015, 08:24:30 PM »

Actually the larger turbo may create more heat at low boost, it really depends on the compressor map and what "efficiency islands" you're running into. Smaller turbos tend to have their peak efficiency islands between 10-20psi, while some larger turbos start at 20psi and extend past 40psi. The reason Hondas tend to make lots of power at low boost with large turbos is mostly because of the large turbine. Even though the compressor is working slightly less efficiently, the turbine lets the engine work much more efficiently.